Sheva Learning Community

Redefining excellence in early childhood education

Sheva, which means seven in Hebrew, is a powerful number in Jewish thought and practice. The Sheva framework employs seven core principles of early care and education and contemporary and ancient texts, using seven Jewish lenses to reveal universal values. Sheva classrooms weave these values throughout their educational day.

The Sheva framework provides us with opportunities in Early Childhood Education to focus on engaging families, providing learning communities for our faculty, and supporting educators as professionals. Being part of the Sheva community gives us the resources to foster these seven elements in our programs:

Seven Core Elements of Sheva:

1.  Children as Constructivist Learners

2.  Early Childhood Directors as Visionaries

3.  Early Childhood Educators as Professionals

4.  Families as Engaged Partners

5.  Environments as Inspiration for Inquiry

6.  discover CATCH as Sh’mirat HaGuf (taking care of our bodies)

7.  Israel as the Story of the Jewish People